Atlanta Spring Trip

2005 - 2006 Robinson Band Highlights

2005 - 2006 Photos

2005 - 2006 Student Achievement Awards
Awarded June 5, 2006
High School Band Banquet

Band Most Outstanding Most Spirited Most Improved
C2 Young-Joon Shin Nick Sampson James Burton
C3B Trent Lukaczek Megan Cummins Aimee DeSoto
C3G Stephen Zavaleta Julieta Ceballos Dan Hill
C4 Shaye Swanson Katie Smith Eric Faxen
Jazz Matt Fisk Aaron Gallagher Andrew Mitchell
Outstanding Woodwind: Sally Lee
Outstanding Brass: Chris Brese
Outstanding Percussion: Laura Buchanan

Director Awards
9th Grade: Andrew Fisk,
10th Grade: Patti Nicastri
11th Grade: Tiffany Hoffer
12th Grade: Aaron Gallagher

Senior Drum Major Award: Nathan Gardner

David Foster Awards
Band Camp Scholarship: Ashleigh & Bradley Harmon
Memorial Award: Maddie Gawne

NBA Outstanding Musician Award: Symphonic Tuba Section

Louis Armstrong Jazz Award: Matt Fisk

Departmental Honors: Nathan Gardner

Semper Fidelis Award: Chris Brese

John Philip Sousa Award:  Beverly Stokes

FiestaVal Atlanta 2006

Symphonic Band: 1st Place, Grade 6
Concert Band 4: 1st Place, Grade 5
Concert Band 3: 1st Place, Grade 4
Concert Strings: 2nd Place, Grade 4
Symphonic Orchestra: 1st Place, Grade 6
Jazz Combo: 1st Place, Grade 4
Guitar Ensemble: 1st Place, Grade 4

Overall championships by category:
Concert Band: Robinson
Orchestra: Robinson
Jazz Band: Robinson
Guitar Ensemble: Robinson

Additionally, all 3 Robinson concert bands placed ahead of all other bands.

Outstanding Soloist Awards:
Trumpet - Matt Godwin
Violin -  Henry Jiang
Piccolo - Jenna Hunter
Flute - Sally Lee
Oboe - Megan Hein
Trumpet - Beverly Stokes
Euphonium - Robert Rose
Drum set - Andrew Mitchell
Guitar - Billy Mickler
Rhythm section -Gray Ferris, Andrew Mitchell,
and Billy Mickler

Robinson Secondary School Drums Up An Award

This past weekend (3/18/06) 26 Robinson Secondary percussion/color guard members were awarded first place honors at the Edison H.S. AIA (Atlantic Indoor Association) competition held at Hayfield High School. Their score of 82.3 now leads the Novice Classification in the AIA circuit for this week’s event. The competition featured 14 marching percussion ensembles.

The Robinson Indoor Ensemble presented their 2006 program entitled,”The Winners Circle”. The program features the Overture from the Opera, “William Tell” -- composed by Italian-born Gioacchino Rossini. The performance opened to a contemporary keyboard composition, the next movement was a dynamic section from the Storm, in movement three the color guard is treated to a beautiful dance interlude while being serenaded to the vibrant rap lyrics of Matt Boettke and the finale is the famous “cavalry charge” featuring the entire musical and visual ensemble.

The ensemble is under the student direction of: Ensemble Director ~ Casey Moore, Battery Percussion Section Leader ~ Paul Amico, Color Guard Captain ~ Amanda Duncan and Sideline Section Leader ~ Chris Lamb.

The Ensemble’s instructional staff includes: Movement/Visual Designer ~ Jeff Wrobleski, Musical Arranger ~ Tim McKay, Rifle Technician ~ Kathy Moore and Percussion Instructor ~ Christian Galoci.

Unit Director’s: Denny Stokes, Karen Donais and Jay Walker.

Congratulations Mr. Stokes!

Denton Stokes, High School Band Director at Robinson, was inducted into the membership of the American Bandmasters Association (ABA) in March, 2006 at the annual convention in Dallas, Texas. Included in this year's class were two high school band directors, two military band directors, the music librarian of Congress, and five college band directors.

The ABA is an elective organization of leading collegiate, military and professional conductors and composers. Active membership numbers approximately 300 members total. Included in this number are approximately 20 high school band directors of the 25,000 directors in the U.S.

Membership in the organization is through selection by the ABA board of directors and election by the membership. Nominees must be sponsored by current members and submit a CD of their ensembles' performances, including not less than one hour of music, as well as supporting documentation. The recording submitted included performances by the Robinson Symphonic Band from 2002, 2003 and 2004.

High School Band Festival
March 10 - 11, 2006
Concert Band III-Blue: Rating 1 Superior
Concert Band III-Gold: Rating 1 Superior
Concert Band IV: Rating 1 Superior
Symphonic Band: Rating 1 Superior

Congratulations Middle School Concert IV, V, Symphonic!
All earned Superior Ratings at Festival!
March 4, 2006

Winter Indoor Ensemble Competition
1st Place Novice Division
Herndon Indoor Showcase
March 4, 2006

All Virginia Band 2006

Joy Rhee, Violin, Orchestra
Jenna Hunter, Piccolo, Symphonic Band
Shaye Swanson, E flat Clarinet, Orchestra
Leah Heist, Clarinet, Concert Band
McKenzie Mayo, Contra Clarinet, Concert Band
Aaron Gallagher, Bari Sax, Symphonic Band
Tiffany Hoffer, Trumpet, Concert Band
Beverly Stokes, Trumpet, Concert Band
Chris Brese, Trombone, Concert Band
Andrew Fisk, Euphonium, Concert Band

Indoor Ensemble
Winter Showcase 2006 at Thomas Jefferson High School ~ February 18, 2006
"The Winners Circle" was awarded 3rd Place in a very close Novice Division.

High School District XI Band
February 2-4, 2006 ~ Centreville High School

Symphonic Band
Jenna Hunter - Piccolo
Sally Lee - Flute
Shaye Swanson - Clarinet
Leah Heist - Clarinet
Linda Kurtz - Clarinet
Amy Pritchyk - Clarinet
Lawrence Ngo - Clarinet
Anne Uyeda - Clarinet
Natalie Nguyen - Clarinet
Patty Nicastri - Clarinet
McKenzie Mayo - Contra clarinet
Aaron Gallagher - Bari Sax
Gray Ferris - Horn
Beverly Stokes - Trumpet
Tiffany Hoffer - Trumpet
Ryan Johnson - Trumpet
Chris Brese - Trombone
Robert Rose - Euphonium
Andrew Fisk - Euphonium
Concert Band
Claire Isaacson - Oboe
Alyssa Beach - Clarinet
Katherine Hagerty - Clarinet
Katie Danner - Clarinet
Cara Regan - Clarinet
Stephen Layland - Alto Sax
Connor Dolan Bari - Sax
Michael Morris - Trumpet
Peter Han - Trumpet
Joon Ho Suh - Bass Trombone
Daniel Rowson - Euphonium
Dan Chapin - Tuba
Wes Chappell - String Bass
Eugene Diefenbach - Percussion
Steffi Offut - Flute
Jack Sutey - Bassoon
Sarah Edwards - Bass Clarinet
Joseph McKnight - Alto Sax
Brad Harmon - Tenor Sax
Jason Gousy - Horn
Chase Uyeda - Trumpet
Michael Edwards - Trumpet
David Levonian - Trumpet
Matt Fisk - Trumpet
Chris Lamb - Trombone

FCPS "SchoolScene" Video
Robinson Marching Band

Find out what it takes to create an
award winning marching band program.
High | Low (02:12)

VBODA (State) Marching Festival
Superior Rating
October 29, 2005

USSBA Mid-Atlantic Championship, Annapolis, MD
Division VI Open 1st Place
Overall Highest Scoring Band
Saturday, October 22, 2005

Hanover Hawks Marching Band Competition
October 15, 2005
1st Place Music, 1st Place Overall Effect, 1st Place Drum Major
2nd Place Color Guard, 3rd Place Drums
1st Place AAAAA Class and Grand Champion

Oakton Classic Marching Competition
October 1, 2005
Division AAAA Best Brass
Division AAAA 1st Place
Divisions AAA and AAAA Gold Award for 1st Place
Oakton Classic Grand Champion

Marching T-shirt
Robinson Marching Rams, Fall 2005, "The Music of Gustav Holst"

2012 - 2013 Highlights
2011 - 2012 Highlights
2010 - 2011 Highlights
2009 - 2010 Highlights
2008 - 2009 Highlights
2007 - 2008 Highlights
2006 - 2007 Highlights
2005 - 2006 Highlights
2004 - 2005 Highlights
2003 - 2004 Highlights
2002 - 2003 Highlights
2001 - 2002 Highlights
2000 - 2001 Highlights
1999 - 2000 Highlights
1998 - 1999 Highlights
Special Effect Photos
Marching Rams Show Shirts Archive


Questions about this site? Please email: bandwebmaster(at)
Digital photos for inclusion on this site may be emailed to the webmaster.
2008 - Robinson Band. All rights reserved. All content and images are exclusive property of
Robinson Secondary School Band Program and may not be reproduced (in whole or part) without
written permission. 5035 Sideburn Road, Fairfax, VA 22032